Just another WordPress.com site

I LOVE media.:)

I have used video, Glogster, and, of course, lots and lots of photos. As a former layout editor, I believe visuals make the page. As an ESL teacher, I am completely sold on the idea that we are all in some way visual learners.

One of the possible assignments for this segment was to “Find a variety of posts that have media embedded and share these with your readers. Discuss their impact and effectiveness.”

Rather than posts, I prefer to share blogs that regularly embed some sort of media.

My all-time favorite is a journalism-technology blog called 10,000 words. The blog regularly shares how newspapers and online news outlets are using technology to reach their readers.

The next one on my list is iLearnTechnology. Rare is the occasion that Kelly doesn’t have some sort of graphic/movie/picture to hold my visual interest.

Technology and Education Box of Tricks is also really amazing for including graphics. I don’t visit often because I get too caught up in all the visual activity! It’s truly a work of art.

Peter Pappas in Copy/Paste also has amazing resources, and he always puts visual focus in his entries.

Pictures transcend. They make language accessible.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments on: "Kick Start Your Blog focuses on imbedding media…" (3)

  1. Yes, I agree with you Beth, i Like visuals for my blog too, the students in my ESL class also love the web2 tools I put on it. I like your glogster, I havn’t used that one b/4.
    Thanks for the read.
    Jane
    http://plungingindeep.blogspot.com/

  2. Hi Elsbeth, I think with the slideshow in wordpress, images that are taken in portrait work better than landscape. Also I think straight images are better, rather than screen grabs with a lot of text. However, we can still read the titles of your images and search to find the actual sites if we want to. Maybe it is better just getting a grab of the header so that is closer up rather than capture a lot of the text.
    I still like the moving images as I am a curious person and I wanted to know what the next image on your slide show would telll me. The slide show does look great though, doesn’t it and I am so glad that I found out it exists as I battled to get any movement on my wordpress blog but now I can have a much more captivating site.
    Anne

    • Thanks for the observations! I tried to put the links in the text, but I think you’re right… grabbing just the header might be more effective.

Leave a comment

RelaxMaven

Stress Less and Live Free

My Serene Words

seeking solace in the horizon of life and beyond

Turn On Your Brain

Resources and Reflection on Contemporary Issues in Education

Known.

podcast | blog

Beth Evans

A space to help me process what I'm learning about education.

I'm Your Neighbor Books

Children's Books & Reading Projects that Build Bridges Between New Arrivals and Long-term Communities

Little Fears

Tales of humour, whimsy and courgettes

Language Learning and Teaching

My journey as an Elementary ELL/Bil Resource teacher

The Brokedown Pamphlet

war some of the time

Selene Colburn

Advocate, artist, educator

Thriving Under Pressure

Dr. Andrea Dinardo, Ph.D. Psychology

Gretchen L. Kelly, Author

Gretchen L. Kelly

Film English

by Kieran Donaghy