Just another WordPress.com site

WHEW!

I just finished grading all (but one) of the papers from the course Kathy and I taught last week to educators from the EDCO group in Massachusetts. I have rarely seen teachers giving up their summer who are so incredibly invested in what they are doing, working so hard to understand some pretty difficult stuff.

so that is almost done.

And I can put my eyes over here.

So this is where I usually post things that we talk about in class so that we have a record to go back to.

On Monday, I asked my students to:

  • sign up for delicious and follow me (tofubeth)
  • sign up for google reader and add some esl/tech specific blogs
  • start a blog, just like this one.

It wasn’t easy. But they did it!

On Tuesday, I thought life would be simpler. I asked them to go outside and take pictures, then create a simple google presentation. Again, not easy, but they did it!.

On Wednesday, we took a quick look at webquests, hotlists and pathfinders. I asked them to create their own hyperlinks or to analyze a webquest. This seemed to go a little better. Though I still think I’m going too quickly…

Today, we looked at URL shorteners, like bit.ly and goo.gl. We also talked about tools for comprehensible input, and everybody went home to play with a smart pen or ipod touch. I think they will have fun.

A couple of items as food for thought as we go into the weekend…

I shared with last week’s group a form to help differentiate within the classroom. I encourage you to take a look at it, and other useful sites on this page.

Comments on: "WHEW!" (1)

  1. wow, that link is awsome. I delicioused it! Although I know I am not a sponge, I am trying to be a one so l can absorb these web information as much as possible. 😉

Leave a Reply

The Brokedown Pamphlet

war some of the time

Selene Colburn

VT Representative (Chittenden 6-4) & East District City Councilor, Burlington, VT

Thriving Under Pressure

Positive Psychology & Stress Resilience

Drifting Through

Welcome to the inner workings of my mind

Film English

by Kieran Donaghy

Teach or Die Trying

The blog of a first year teacher

Lee Ung: EDTECH Learning Log

Boise State University M.ET Program

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Learning to Teach English

Musings and Activities

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

Science and Mysticism

طيب ابن الإعجاز

sunriseandselah

Selah: To Pause, To Praise, To Reflect

EDUWELLS

Student-led Learning and the Future of Education

edensESL

it is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge

Kunal Rane

Some Memories... Some Experiences...

