Just another WordPress.com site

Counting Blessings

sol-979319_1280On this day, I am so happy to be able to be with my family. To have plenty to eat. To have a home and a comfortable life.

I have so much to be thankful for, it’s crazy.

I took a student to have her blood drawn this week. Her family wakes at 4:30 for morning prayers, but when I knocked at 7:20, it looked like the family had just gotten to bed.

Mattresses were in the kitchen (which my student identified as the living room) because the bedroom where her parents normally sleep was too cold.

So we’re thankful for the warm weather, even if this is Vermont.

I asked how many people live in their 3-bedroom apartment.

“Maybe 12?” she responded.

I am blessed that I came from a middle class family. With educated parents who worked very hard so their children could prosper. Thank you, Mom and Dad.

I am blessed that I chose to marry an amazing partner who was the first in his family to get an advanced degree. I thank everybody involved in getting us to this point.

We live comfortably. We do not share a 3-bedroom apartment with 12 people. Our lives have not been ravaged by war, persecution or sickness.

Our problems are first world problems. And for this, I am grateful.

But I also am eternally grateful for my students, because they teach me every day. They teach me joy and empathy; they teach me to smile despite adversity.

I am lucky to have them in my life.

 

Leave a Reply

The Brokedown Pamphlet

war some of the time

Selene Colburn

VT Representative (Chittenden 6-4) & East District City Councilor, Burlington, VT

Thriving Under Pressure

Positive Psychology & Stress Resilience

Drifting Through

Welcome to the inner workings of my mind

Film English

by Kieran Donaghy

Teach or Die Trying

The blog of a first year teacher

Lee Ung: EDTECH Learning Log

Boise State University M.ET Program

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Learning to Teach English

Musings and Activities

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

Science and Mysticism

طيب ابن الإعجاز

sunriseandselah

Selah: To Pause, To Praise, To Reflect

EDUWELLS

Student-led Learning and the Future of Education

edensESL

it is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge

Kunal Rane

Some Memories... Some Experiences...

