Just another WordPress.com site

Minecraft? Really?

I am jumping into Minecraft.

I’ve heard a lot about it, my daughter’s hooked on it, but I just don’t see how this can help reach educational goals. I look forward to learning.

I’ve watched my own daughter spend crazy amounts of time on Minecraft. I’ve heard it has educational value. But what I see looks just like a waste of time, similar to the mindless hours I spent on FarmTown on Facebook.

But maybe.

I’ve been experimenting in one of my classes with Code Studio, just to get my students to do some problem-solving in English. There’s no real connection with my curriculum, but it is spawning some interesting conversations in English, and it’s creating some interesting leadership that didn’t exist before.

Students who normally wait for others to do their work are quietly taking the lead, working toward becoming the experts in the class.

And… they are speaking English.

How cool is that?

So, maybe this will prove to be a fruitful five weeks through the Electronic Village Online.

I’m actually pretty psyched!

 

 

Comments on: "Minecraft? Really?" (2)

  1. Hi Beth, reading your blog now 🙂
    You made me think about what counts as waste of time.
    I’m an ‘afternoon teacher’, a private tutor often giving one-to-one EFL lessons to kids who come my lessons after school. They are pretty tired and not really focused and I actually struggle for their attention. I use whatever I can. This is how I ended up with video games 🙂 The simplest thing I can do is to use the theme or the name of the video game (from Angry Birds to Minecraft). This seems to be a way to grab their attention, this is what sounds relevant to them. Do they waste time playing games? If we can turn this ‘timewasting’ into meaningful stuff …
    Hmmm, thanks so much.
    And thanks for mentioning code.org, it was new for me.

    • It’s so much fun. I hope you like it. I know MOST of my students do. And the conversations are rich and meaningful. I also, though, am a fan of down time, especially after school. Perhaps a mix?

Leave a Reply

Education Rickshaw

International Teaching in Motion

The Brokedown Pamphlet

war some of the time

Selene Colburn

VT Representative (Chittenden 6-4) & East District City Councilor, Burlington, VT

Thriving Under Pressure

Positive Psychology & Stress Resilience

Drifting Through

Welcome to the inner workings of my mind

Film English

by Kieran Donaghy

Teach or Die Trying

The blog of a first year teacher

Lee Ung: EDTECH Learning Log

Boise State University M.ET Program

Learning to Teach English

Musings and Activities

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

Science and Mysticism

طيب ابن الإعجاز

Selah

A space for my reflections

EDUWELLS

Student-led Learning and the Future of Education

