Just another WordPress.com site

Prepping for Survival

I stepped into Minecraft a couple of times this past week… I built a house with a rooftop garden. I let my daughter spawn all sorts of horses and chickens. I built a henhouse. And I flew.

It was fun! It was zen. It was addicting.

But while I was there, I was chatting with another participant who had only played survival mode.

And I got scared.

There’s no flying in survival mode.

I thought I should give it a shot, just to see what we’re heading into this next week. So I tried playing on the ipad.

I drowned. Before I even figured anything out. I fell in the water and watched my life slip away.

First, the air bubbles.

Then the little hearts, marking health points, disappearing with little >>pop!<< noises. (Or maybe those were just in my head).

Then I went back to the laptop and tried again. Twice. I died the first time, again, and then I started dipping into the internet and finding people smarter than me. I learned how to make tools. I built an underground house. I am getting attacked by weird things. I died twice. But now it’s not so upsetting. I know I’ll respawn. I’ll try again.

So this is a great exercise for grit, the new word we’re supposed to be fostering in kids. They are just missing grit.

I think my students have that, but they also don’t like to just have things be out of control. They’ve had enough of that.

So I still need to get to the bit about language learning. I have read what people have said. I have seen some instances; but I still think this works a whole lot better as EFL than what my kids are facing.

Anybody have curriculum-based examples you’re ready to show me?

 

 

Leave a comment

RelaxMaven

Stress Less and Live Free

My Serene Words

seeking solace in the horizon of life and beyond

Turn On Your Brain

Resources and Reflection on Contemporary Issues in Education

Known.

podcast | blog

Beth Evans

A space to help me process what I'm learning about education.

I'm Your Neighbor Books

Children's Books & Reading Projects that Build Bridges Between New Arrivals and Long-term Communities

Little Fears

Tales of humour, whimsy and courgettes

Language Learning and Teaching

My journey as an Elementary ELL/Bil Resource teacher

The Brokedown Pamphlet

war some of the time

Selene Colburn

Advocate, artist, educator

Thriving Under Pressure

Dr. Andrea Dinardo, Ph.D. Psychology

Gretchen L. Kelly, Author

Gretchen L. Kelly

Film English

by Kieran Donaghy

Lee Ung: EDTECH Learning Log

Boise State University M.ET Program