Just another WordPress.com site

Leadership at #TESOL2016

So I’m at TESOL! In Baltimore!

And I’m excited!

I started with the Leadership Management Certificate Program. It was a daylong class that touched on a whole bunch of stuff that would have been incredibly relevant to me if I were an administrator.

I was hoping this would give me insights into how to be an affiliate president. Sometimes it’s difficult getting my organization to do stuff when we are spread across three states. It wasn’t exactly that… but it wasn’t half bad!

The sessions were split up into effective leadership, teacher development, and strategic planning… it was really interesting. And it made me think about how I could make a difference in my school right now.

We were asked to think more broadly about who the stakeholders are for a program. Who are the competitors? What do they have that we don’t? What are the external forces that threaten our programs?

We heard tales of programs that were asked to develop business classes for beginning English speakers in a week…and how they referred back to the organization’s mission statement to get the decision repealed, because it didn’t fit with the mission statement. Of how to help teachers become better on the short (kale), medium (yam), and long term (pinapple/mango).

We heard of selecting (and de-selecting) the right person for the job, and doing it humanely. And we talked about what to do when the person doesn’t leave your office…

But as we look forward to our own district and where it will go, I wonder how I could use these same questions, these same arguments, to make things better for my students, even though most don’t apply to my current situation.

I’m excited to find out where this will go.

And, as I look forward for my affiliate, how can we make us stronger? How can we use these kinds of questions to help our board look more closely at what we do and how we attract our members?

It’s worth thinking about.

Leave a Reply

The Brokedown Pamphlet

war some of the time

Selene Colburn

VT Representative (Chittenden 6-4) & East District City Councilor, Burlington, VT

Thriving Under Pressure

Positive Psychology & Stress Resilience

Drifting Through

Welcome to the inner workings of my mind

Film English

by Kieran Donaghy

Lee Ung: EDTECH Learning Log

Boise State University M.ET Program

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Learning to Teach English

Musings and Activities

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

Science and Mysticism

طيب ابن الإعجاز

sunriseandselah

Selah: To Pause, To Praise, To Reflect

EDUWELLS

Student-led Learning and the Future of Education

edensESL

it is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge

Kunal Rane

Some Memories... Some Experiences...

baughk

Advocates of ELL students and their families on the road less traveled.

