Just another WordPress.com site

The last time I posted was August.

 

I can’t believe it’s October. And not just the beginnings of October, but darn near the middle.

 

So to catch you all up…

My class, for those of you who have not read through this blog, is for students new to the United States. They are usually refugees. They don’t always know what to expect or how to do things here. They may or may not have had education before coming. And those are only part of the challenges.

I also have started this year doing intake for the district. Any student who is new to the United States and speaks (or has been exposed to) a language other than English goes through me. I’m supposed to test and report back.

It’s been a challenge, sometimes testing up to four students in a day–oh, and teaching my class. Last year, I taught English learners at both the elementary and high school level.

I used to say that the only differences, really, were the sizes of the kids. The WHAT that I taught was often the same. The HOW was different.

But to be honest, the problems they come with are also grow with them when they get older. They may still be children in their hearts and mind and souls, but the problems these kiddos have could break your heart.

I’ve spent many a night crying over troubles that are so much not my own.

And just to make things a little more challenging, our union is voting this week on whether to strike.

So now, like it or not, I am starting to get a chance to breathe and report in on all the beautiful–and some scary–things that have been happening in my classroom.

And I’m glad to have you along for the ride.

Let me know if you have any questions… I live for the exchange of ideas!

Leave a Reply

The Brokedown Pamphlet

war some of the time

Selene Colburn

VT Representative (Chittenden 6-4) & East District City Councilor, Burlington, VT

Thriving Under Pressure

Positive Psychology & Stress Resilience

Drifting Through

Welcome to the inner workings of my mind

Film English

by Kieran Donaghy

Teach or Die Trying

The blog of a first year teacher

Lee Ung: EDTECH Learning Log

Boise State University M.ET Program

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Learning to Teach English

Musings and Activities

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

Science and Mysticism

طيب ابن الإعجاز

sunriseandselah

Selah: To Pause, To Praise, To Reflect

EDUWELLS

Student-led Learning and the Future of Education

edensESL

it is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge

Kunal Rane

Some Memories... Some Experiences...

