Just another WordPress.com site

Snow help

I’m sitting in my warm house (now that my heater has been fixed!), watching the snow cover my yard and the driveway I shoveled off this morning.

Photo on 12-17-16 at 12.24 PM.jpg

I feel very fortunate.

However, this past week, I visited a home of a recently resettled refugee family and found that the heat was not on. Not knowing how the heater worked, they had unplugged it. And we’ve been working to get it back on and to teach them how to use it, instead of relying on a tiny space heater. I feel so lucky that I was reaching out now, during a week that has been the coldest this season.

And this visit also brought to light a need for boots at our middle and high schools. Elementary schools often get help because the need is widely published. Word travels quickly in an elementary school. But in middle and high schools, we teach more in silos, where a few people know a lot about some students. But we don’t know the next student/teacher’s plight.

I’m out to change that.

If you live in Vermont’s Chittenden County, and you have some gently used boots that might help out these young people sitting in our classrooms, please let me know. If you don’t live here, but you’d like to help out, contact me.

Here’s what I’m looking for, for students in middle and high school:

  • Young men, sizes 5, 6.5, 7, 7.5
  • Young women, sizes 4, 4, 8, 8.5

Let me know if you can help!

Comments on: "Snow help" (4)

  1. Please share widely! You never know who might have an extra pair of boots somewhere…

  2. I’m happy to help, but I have no boots to pass on. I’m willing to give you an Amazon gift card for you to use. That way, you’ll know which sizes you still need after you hear from some others willing to help. I’ll need your email. Does mine show up for you in the comments?

  3. […] social media to get a few of my students set, but the need is still great. So I put out a call here, on facebook through social sites that offer items for free, and through twitter. Oh, and I sent […]

Leave a Reply

Education Rickshaw

Teaching Ideas from the 21st Century

The Brokedown Pamphlet

war some of the time

Selene Colburn

VT Representative (Chittenden 6-4) & East District City Councilor, Burlington, VT

Thriving Under Pressure

Positive Psychology & Stress Resilience

Drifting Through

Welcome to the inner workings of my mind

Film English

by Kieran Donaghy

Teach or Die Trying

The blog of a first year teacher

Lee Ung: EDTECH Learning Log

Boise State University M.ET Program

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Learning to Teach English

Musings and Activities

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

Science and Mysticism

طيب ابن الإعجاز

sunriseandselah

Selah: To Pause, To Praise, To Reflect

EDUWELLS

Student-led Learning and the Future of Education

